20-something sex vs 30-something sex

Can I just say how much I love Reddit. So addicting!

As I’ve progressed with my own sexuality into my 30s, I’m come to wonder if this is the natural order of events to be more comfortable in your sexuality as you age. So I’d like to discuss what I’ve seen to be the differences between sex in your 20s vs your 30s.

20-something sex:

It’s all about over-eagerness. You’re so thrilled to be having sex, I believe it’s more about quantity than quality. I even talked about my own experiences with that here.

You’re still learning about yourself, therefore you’re not always sure about what you like, what you’re comfortable trying, and how far you’d like to go.

Sex is still fairly new to you, so the uncomfortable aspects of sex (fluids, noises, smells) are embarrassing to you and thereby limiting to your exploration.

30-something sex:

You’re more comfortable with your body and don’t let it get in the way of sexual encounters.

You’ve learned more about who you are as a person and you’re not afraid to ask for what you want.

You’ve had enough sexual experience to get past the embarrassments. This tends to make you more open to trying new things.

Overall I feel like there’s a better acceptance of yourself as a 30-something and that leads to better sexual encounters.

Have something to add to this? We have a rousing discussion about this over on Reddit. You can add to that over here or in the comments.

5 thoughts on “20-something sex vs 30-something sex

  1. Cy says:

    As a 21-year old I strongly disagree with this. Theres some truth in it, however in my case not as much (well, who knows what’ll be when I’m 30-something)

      • Cy says:

        “It’s all about over-eagerness. You’re so thrilled to be having sex, I believe it’s more about quantity than quality.” – Absolutely not. Well despite the fact that I can go all weekend, quality is a lot more important as in there has to be a connection right? If theres not anything more then physical is it really worth the trouble?

        “You’re still learning about yourself, therefore you’re not always sure about what you like, what you’re comfortable trying, and how far you’d like to go.” Altho I can agree with “not always sure about what you like” I do know what I’d like to try, besides, how many things can there be to try?

        “Sex is still fairly new to you, so the uncomfortable aspects of sex (fluids, noises, smells) are embarrassing to you and thereby limiting to your exploration.” 99% wrong 🙂

        People are different, there aren’t two that are same and I’m (obviously) not a fan of generalization despite the fact that i don’t personally agree with above mentioned.

      • Clearly generalizations aren’t for you but I appreciate the discourse. If this doesn’t apply to you, then good for you. You’re about a decade ahead of most people your age. The only thing I’ll disagree with is the idea “how many things are there to try.” I’d say a ton. There’s always something new.

Leave a Reply

