Trial & Error – Sex Toys

not quite this wholesome

not quite this wholesome

I have some good friends that pride themselves on telling me like it is. I love them for that. And they not so gently told me when they thought I was becoming not so naive and that my blog name should maybe reflect that. It was at that time that you might have noticed my tagline shifted slightly. There you go blog readers, I let you in on a little secret. 🙂

Well, I’m here to argue that concept with them, and you I suppose. Let me tell you why I think I’m still very much naive and why this blog still relates to the woman/couple looking for honest talk from someone they can relate to . I’m going to let you in on another little secret. There’s been a sex toy review that has been sitting in my draft box for ages. AGES. It was started eight months ago and I’ve been dragging my feet on it. Not because I’m lazy, not because I have writer’s block. Because I don’t like the toy. That seems easy enough right? Just write a poor review. Well, it’s not that simple. I’ve always been here to talk about the things no one talks about, here’s another one. The reason I don’t like the toy has nothing to do with the toy, it’s me. I’ve come to discover I don’t like toys that vibrate internally in my vagina. So while you see good toy reviews and you see bad toy reviews, what happens when you haven’t learned your preferences enough to know what toys you do and don’t like yet. And how do you go about that process? Is there a checklist? Are there standard toys you should try and in a certain order? That’s what I ran across. Does it get much more naive than that? I bought a toy that had all the bells and whistles thinking I would like it only to find out it’s not my style at all. Now what do you do with it? And how do you convey that? I literally have a half written review sitting around along with a toy used twice. I feel like a perverted version of the Island of Misfit Toys. I have a box of misfit sex toys. Toys I bought before I realized what kind of toy I really preferred. So the true situation I present to you is two-fold. What is the process/is there a process to discovering what sex toys best suit you? And what do you with all the misfits?

Leave a Reply

